Peeking my head out from under the snow drift…

I’ll never forget what a friend said to me a few years back when I was crying to her about my sadness over leaving a job I loved. She asked me what my least favorite season was, and without hesitation I answered that it was winter. She looked at me and said, “You are going through a winter season in your life. Hang in there, because all winters eventually come to an end.”

It would take two years before that particular “winter” season ended, but she was right. I  never forgot her words. I remember them each time I find myself dipping into a “season” that leaves me feeling the brittle, skeletal coldness that only a winter can bring.

At the very end of 2013 I decided to give blogging a try. Actually, I started this blog four months before that winter solstice of my soul faded into a glorious springtime. My contributions here have been anemic at best. As I’m sitting here in early March, feeling the damp cold in my feet, after being buried in seven inches of Kentucky snow, I wonder when the real spring will arrive, and I look forward to the green and warmth that signals the end of another long, hard winter.

Likewise, here at Taciturn Alchemy, I have decided to take the Blogging101 courses offered by WordPress, finally resolving to pick this thing up off the ground after laying in abeyance for over six months. My hope is to finally peek my head out from under the snow drift of my life that has kept me afraid of failing at something I was hoping I’d love. I’m ready to move from the winter of my blogging into spring. I’m still learning that winter can’t last forever…

3 thoughts on “Peeking my head out from under the snow drift…

  1. You’re post was exactly what I needed to hear!! I love the part where your friend made the comparison to ‘winter.’ It’s such a good outlook to have! Thank you for posting!

  2. Can I simply say what a relief to seek out somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know learn how to carry an issue to gentle and make it important. More folks need to learn this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant imagine youre not more well-liked since you positively have the gift.

Leave a Reply

